The Archaeological Museum of Sikyona was founded in 1930 and is the best preserved part of the later roman baths that were discovered in the area. It was restored and adjusted by A. Orlando in order to house the findings of the excavations of the Archaeological Society in the beginnings of the 20th century. For many years the museum remained closed, but in 2004 it was reopened to welcome visitors.
In this museum, visitors can see not only findings from the ancient Sikyona, which occupy the biggest part of the exhibition, but also exhibits from other parts of the Corinthian Prefecture. The most ancient objects of the collection are the Mycenaean jars from the area of the town of Xylokastro. The findings from ancient Sikyona are mainly inscriptions, sculptures, ceramics and figurines. Some of these date back to the years of the first habitation of the city, also known as the archaic period. Most of the exhibits are Hellenistic and Roman, like the statuette of Artemis found at the roman baths and the Apollo marble bust, reminding of Praxiteles’ works.
The building is further decorated with parts of mosaic floors, discovered in houses that the archaeologists excavated. The Museum’s yard offers visitors the opportunity to see early Christian and Byzantine sculptures.